Featured Author – Kate James + Interview + Giveaway

12039727_901903076569715_7095561557824772924_n

On tour with Prism Book Tours.

25311873

               

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When the Right One Comes Along

(K-9 Trilogy #1)
by Kate James

Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 293 Pages
October 1st 2015 by Harlequin

Add to Goodreads Button

Brought together by disaster. Kept together by love.

In the aftermath of a deadly earthquake, it’s chaos for trauma surgeon Jessica Hansen. Among the many victims, one patient stands out—San Diego Police K-9 search and rescue officer Cal Palmer.

Cal vows to help Kayla, a child orphaned by the disaster. But he needs Jessica’s help. Will their shared concern for Kayla and for Cal’s canine partner, Scout, allow them to put aside their personal torments and discover the difference love can make?

Amazon – Barnes & Noble – Harlequin – iTunes – Kobo


MY REVIEW:

Author Kate James’ WHEN THE RIGHT ONE COMES ALONG brims with emotional intensity. It is an emotional rollercoaster ride! Brilliant writing transports readers into a sentimental place filled with deeply moving moments of spell-binding drama and heartbreak which is eventually healed with a balm called love. Keep a box of tissues close-by because the characters’ journey in this beautifully written story will have you wiping a tear or two.

Calen Palmer is seriously injured when he and his canine partner Scout, put themselves in harm’s way to save victims from a massive earthquake that hit San Diego. He is sent to Ocean Crest Hospital for treatment where he is cared for by Jessica Hansen, a trauma surgeon.

By doctor’s orders, he must stay off his feet for a few weeks but what happens to Scout? His canine friend needs his exercise. So Cal asks his brother Drew to help out with Scout, but the dog is rambunctious and Drew has no other choice but to return Scout to Cal. Cal recalls the way Jessica and Scout had bonded, so he decides to ask her for her help. She agrees to helping out with Scout and so a friendship builds.

Cal and Jessica become more than just acquaintances, but as always, obstacles block them from reaching their HEA. If they desire a lasting, forever-after life together, they must solve the problems standing in their way.

Ms. James’ novel draws you in from page one, and leaves you feeling happy and then tormented as the crisis point breaks but eventually she brings her characters together in the most beautiful and deserving way. This is one Harlequin Heartwarming story you should not miss!

Highly Recommended
5/5 Stars


Hey guys, today I’d love to welcome author Kate James on my blog. Do stop by and say hello.


Interview with Amanda from Amanda Writes:

Thank you for hosting me on your blog Amanda!

You are most welcome Kate!

1) What inspired you to start writing?

I always wanted to write. While I was attending university, I started two manuscripts, but after graduation, my career took off. Those partial manuscripts were relegated to a storage box in my basement. Fast forward a number of years. I discovered a notice for a short story writing competition. I wrote a story, entered it in the contest and placed 52 in my category. That might not sound like much of an accomplishment, but the contest received over 12,500 entries! Still, I didn’t pursue writing at the time.

A few months later, I was opening birthday gifts from my husband. I’m a very hard person to buy gifts for because there’s not much that I want or need. Yet, my husband always finds the perfect presents for me. On this particular occasion, one brightly wrapped package contained a beautiful white laptop. I smiled graciously and thanked my husband profusely, all the while wondering why I needed another laptop, when I had a perfectly good one from work that was with me nearly 24/7.

But my husband knew better than I did. Because I did spend so much time on my work laptop, the last thing I was inclined to do was use it to write. The fact that my personal laptop was white instead of the normal business black made a world of difference, too. It didn’t look or feel like my work computer, and it created an entirely different mindset.

The rest—clichéd as it is—is history!

2) What book is at the top of your TBR pile?

Right now, it’s the fourth book in Elizabeth Heiter’s The Profile series, SEIZED. I also just received MIDDLE OF SOMEWHERE, courtesy of the author, Sonya Yoerg. (Thank you, Sonja!)

Finally, I just purchased two Heartwarming novels: Roz Denny Fox’s MOLLY’S GARDEN and Cheryl Harper’s HEART’S REFUGE. (I absolutely love Cheryl’s cover!)

3) How do you spend your time when you’re not creating stories with HEA’s for your characters?

I’m not very good at relaxing! When not working on my laptop writing or doing other work, I tend to be very active. I love spending time outdoors with our dogs, hiking, bicycling or working in our gardens. When I’m not working or outside, I love to read.

4) Describe your new book When the Right One Comes Along in one sentence.

I have to use the line from the back cover copy because I like it so much, and embellish it.

Brought together by disaster, an orphaned little girl and a precocious police dog, and kept together by love.

5) Who is your favorite character in When the Right One Comes Along?

It’s a difficult choice between K-9 unit officer Cal Palmer and trauma surgeon Jessica Hansen. For me, Cal wins by a small margin. I respect his dedication to his young daughter and his work, and any man who’d do what Cal did to save his dog is tops on my list.

6) What, who or where inspired you to write When the Right One Comes Along?

I have tremendous respect and appreciation for police officers who dedicate themselves to protecting us and our communities. No surprise to those who know me, I also have a great love of animals. What better way to combine theseinfluences than to write about K-9 unit police officers, their dogs and love interests. This is how the K-9 trilogy came to be.
Thank you, again, for the opportunity to visit your blog, Amanda.

Glad to have you here Kate.


Kate+James+2

Kate James spent eight years of her childhood living in foreign countries as her professional parents travelled on business. She lived in four countries and spoke five languages before settling down in Canada again to attend university. After graduating with a degree in civil engineering, she held a variety of positions in the field of real estate development and operations, and ran three substantial organizations. While her writing during this period was mostly business related, including presentations and speeches she delivered both nationally and internationally, her passion is and always has been fiction.

Kate’s business and personal experiences enable her to write fiction with a deep, often first-hand knowledge of what she is writing about. This approach makes Kate’s stories richer and more vivid.

Kate’s goal is to entertain you with well-written, engaging stories, set in intriguing places and with strong, likeable characters. “I hope my stories bring you pleasure and entertain you. Nothing pleases me more than receiving feedback from people who have chosen to spend their valuable leisure time with one of my books,” notes Kate.

Kate married her husband, Ken, in an elegant, ocean-front wedding on a tropical island. When they are not traveling, they split their time between their properties in southern and central Ontario in Canada.

Website – Goodreads – Facebook – Twitter

Tour Schedule

9/28: Launch

9/29: undercover book reviews & The Written Adventure

9/30: Anndawson’s Blog & Letters from Annie (Douglass) Lima

10/1: Writing Pearls & Amanda Writes

10/2: Slice of Life & Mythical Books

10/4: Christy’s Cozy CornersBeck Valley Books, & underneath the covers

10/5: teatime and Books & Thoughts of a Blonde

10/6: Dixie n Dottie & Wishful Endings

10/7: I Am A ReaderZerina Blossom’s Books, & Getting Your Read On

10/8: Mel’s Shelves & Singing Librarian Books

10/9: Kindle and Me

10/11: Grand Finale


Tour Giveaway

Prizes

Grand Prize: Spa Gift Basket and a print copy of When the Right One Comes Along (US/CAN only)

2nd Prize: $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of When the Right One Comes Along (print if US/CAN, ebook if international)

3 – 3rd Prizes: copy of When the Right One Comes Along(print if US/CAN, ebook if international)

Ends October 16th

aRafflecopter giveaway

Button New

12 thoughts on “Featured Author – Kate James + Interview + Giveaway

  1. Hi Kate

    Oh I do love the sound of this story I always think animals add so much character to the stories congrats:)

    Have Fun
    Helen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the sound of your story Kate and Amanda, the way you have reviewed it, I want to read it too!
    Is it mean if I wish to win the 2nd prize? After all, I do live outside the US borders.

    All the best for your book Kate.

    Like

    • Thank you, Hina. If you do get a chance to read When the Right One Comes Along, I would love to hear from you. As for the giveaway, how about I say there are TWO grand prizes. if you win the gift basket, I’ll substitute an Amazon gift card for you. Best wishes with the giveaway and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Like

  4. can’t wait to read it cause it’s peaked my interest already!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been excited about this new series for a while, and I can’t wait for my copy to arrive! I’m a sucker for pups in stories, and I know with one of Kate’s books, I’ll need kleenex at hand, because they’re so emotional and heartwarming!

    Thanks, Kate, for the shout-out for Seized! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Read and Enter Here! …Grand Finale Blitz & GIVEAWAY for When the Right One Comes Along! (Ends 10/16/15) | Rockin' Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

