Featured Author – Jacqui Jacoby + Interview + Giveaway

Hi Jacqui, I’m excited to have you on my blog today. I’m even more excited about this interview! Now I’m inquisitive about some behind-the-scenes stuff taking place in your writer life. Tell me…

 

  1. What’s your favorite research method when researching a story?

I have two books I use every time I start a new book: WIP Notebook by Jeannie Ruesch and Ready Set Novel by Chris Baty.  Although I consider myself somewhere about halfway between a plotter and a panster, I find following the trails in these books helped me define the characters and plots.

 To actually conduct the research, I’m a Google person, hitting facts I need as they come up in the book.  If I am typing the hero and heroine are having dinner in a XX restaurant, then I pop on to Google for half a minute to see what they might order.

 I’ve done this with everything from make-up for Ash, a puppy for Evan, a drink Ian might make, which car Travis drives, what kind of detonator does Jason and Quinn need.

 For defense and fighting–always in my books– I ask my family, they’re all black-belts.

  1. How many words do you write any given day on average?  

3000—blogs, articles, lectures, manuscripts…

  1. Are you currently working on any projects? 

Yes, I am revising Illegal Exit for its June release. There is no paranormal in Illegal Exit.  A novella, it is a stand-alone suspense thriller. 

  1. Do you always meet your writing deadlines? 

No.  I generally run a bit behind, how long depending on length of the project.  I try to plan for knowing that when figuring out how to put the project together.

  1. What’s your favorite social media tool and why do you prefer it better than others? 

I use Facebook for Personal where I am very active and post too many photos of my cats.  I use it professionally for launch parties and such.  I’m really into Twitter (JaxJacoby) and I am learning Instagram but Pinterest and Google+, I just don’t get.

     6.  Tell us a little about your current book Dead Men Seal the Deal. 

Dead Men Seal the Deal is the second installment of the Dead Men series, this one focusing on Jason. Again we have a house with five best friends–now with Ash– all loyal to each other and willing to kill or die to keep each other safe.  It is their friendship that is the driving force behind the stories. Not the fact they are vampires.       

     7. What inspired you to write Dead Men Seal the Deal? 

Jason is incapable of shutting up.

    8. What should we expect from you in 2016 in terms of future books?

 Illegal Exit June 12th

 Aaden’s Hope September 12th

 A Collection of Dead Men: 13 short stories December 12

   9. Now I really inquisitive…how long have you been writing?

I started writing things down after my son was born.  Stories, though, that goes back to when I still wanted to marry Shaun Cassidy.  I used to “write” fan fiction, I guess, though fan fiction wasn’t defined until decades later.  I watched TV and I rewrote episodes in my head, never putting it to paper.  In fact, I still do.  Taking movies apart is an exercise I do between projects to sharpen skills.

10. What words of advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Keep Typing. No matter what is going on or what is happening in your life and in your writing, keep typing.  You have a dream and it’s not going to happen on its own. It’s long, hard work, sometimes choosing your words over that movie your partner wants to see.  Do not let anyone discourage you, don’t listen to negative feedback and … keep typing.

 

APic

Jacqui Jacoby on the web:
Website
        
Blog      

Twitter 
Facebook
Google + Jacqui Jacoby
Instagram: 
JacquiJaxJacob 
Pinterest: 
Jacqui Jacoby


 

SEAL COVER

Dead Men Seal the Deal Blurb:

Too-playful-for-his-own-good, Jason Sullivan keeps himself busy working his job, hitting the gym, and dating the right girl for the right amount of time. He loves romance. He loves treating a woman right. Until he has a chance encounter with Taylor Grant. Taylor escaped Georgia to flee a broken relationship. Her convictions to stay single, stay away from men and give up sex altogether will be challenged when the mischievous Jason gets her in his cross hairs.

Jason’s seductions are not only in his romances, but also in his job. When a meeting with a new client brings Jason’s human past forefront, secrets and regrets come crashing down around him. He will turn not only to the new lady in his life, but to his ‘brothers’—Travis, Ian, Quinn and Evan—who will unite as an unstoppable force that not even one greedy, vindictive hag can expect.


Buy Links:

Amazon Kindle

Amazon Paperback

iBooks

B&N

Kobo

inktera

Scribd


Leave a comment in the ‘Comments’ section and enter for a chance to win an e-copy of Jacqui’s book!

One thought on “Featured Author – Jacqui Jacoby + Interview + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

