An interview with Jennifer Snow

Starting over means a second chance . . .

Abigail Jansen is done with hockey . . . and hockey players. After leaving her two-timing NHL-star husband, Abby decides to start over in her hometown of Glenwood Falls, Colorado. There she doesn’t have to deal with people gossiping behind her back or hear the word “hockey”—until her daughter tries out for the junior hockey team. Now Abby has to face her fears . . . and coach Jackson Westmore. He’s tall, dark, handsome—and happens to hate her.

All through high school, talented hockey player Jackson Westmore had a crush on Abby, but he would never make a move on his best friend’s girl. He gave her the cold shoulder out of self-preservation and worked out his frustrations on the ice. So when Abby returns, newly divorced and still sexy as hell, Jackson knows he’s in trouble. Now even the best defensive skills might not keep him from losing his heart.

Get Maybe This Time here:


Hi guys. Jennifer Snow is here today to talk about her books, writing and other stuff. Please help me welcome her!

  1. Hi Jennifer, welcome to Amanda Writes. Please tell readers a little about yourself.

Thanks for having me today! I am a contemporary romance author writing sweet and sexy stories for Grand Central Publishing’s Forever line, Harlequin’s Heartwarming and Blaze lines and Penguin Random House’s Intermix line. I’ve published over 13 novels and novellas with 5 books releasing this year. I live in Alberta, Canada with my husband and six year old son.

  1. When did you first realize you wanted to become a writer and what inspired your first book?

I think I was four when I wrote my first story and I’ve always wanted to be a writer and published author. I listed it in my high school yearbook as the career I wanted and then worked to make it a reality (not without a lot of divergent paths explored first). My first full book was a YA romance that I wrote when I was fifteen. I even submitted it to Harlequin. Of course, it received a rejection letter, but the editor’s feedback inspired me to continue writing.

  1. Plotter or panster?

Definitely a panster, which makes synopsis writing and pitching series ideas to publishers difficult for me. I often don’t know where the story is heading or who the characters are until I start writing. And I write scenes out of order, making my ‘process’ a nightmare, but somehow it works.

  1. Your latest novel is titled Maybe This Time. What influenced you to write this story and what can readers expect? Is it connected to other books? If yes, please enlighten readers about the connecting books.

Maybe This Time is the first full book in my Colorado Ice Novels Series. Growing up in St. John’s, NL, Canada, hockey was a big part of my life (watching, not playing) so I had always wanted to write a sports romance series featuring hockey players and Jackson is based on a friend of mine. Not a love interest, just a friend lol.

There was also a prequel novella to the series – MAYBE THIS KISS and book 2 MAYBE THIS LOVE releases this May.

  1. Tell us a little about your hero and heroine in this story.

Abigail Jansen is returning home after a messy, public divorce from an NHL player and she is so done with hockey…until her daughter Dani decides to join the junior league team in town.

Jackson Westmore is the hot junior league hockey coach – a middle brother who was the only one not to make it to the NHL, like his 2 brothers. He’s always loved Abby and now that she’s back and her daughter is playing on his team, he has to decide whether or not to go after what he has always wanted-her.

  1. Do you have any favorite line/s in Maybe This Time?

Yes! I love the scene where Jackson finally admits his feelings, but I won’t post spoilers here. It was a fun scene to write!

  1. What’s the most fascinating thing a reader has said to you regarding your books?

I get told that my holiday books should be Hallmark movies all the time, which is awesome, lol. But the best thing I’ve heard was that my book THE MISTLETOE MELODY had inspired one reader to be a better mom to her children. It tore my heart out to hear about her struggle as a single mom and hearing how Melody’s story touched her was amazing. That’s why I write!

  1. What book is on top of your TBR pile?

It’s RITA judging season, so right now, those books are demanding my attention, but I picked up several Jill Shalvis books at the Ripped Bodice Bookstore last week when I was there for an event and they are calling to be read next.

  1. What are you currently working on and what other projects can readers expect from you in the near future?

I’m currently ‘out of contract’ so I’m kinda all over the place right now. I have three different series outlined (briefly) and I’m just hoping to find homes for them in the coming months.

  1. Any advice for aspiring writers?

Do your best to balance the highs and lows of this industry. Keep writing, take the advice of other writers and try to hold onto the love of writing despite the stress of the business side.


1391956_10151877110504070_1132029014_n
Jennifer Snow is an award-winning romance author living in Edmonton, Alberta with her husband and six year old son. She is a member of the Writers Guild of Alberta, the Romance Writers of America, the Canadian Author Association, SheWrites.org and FAVA.  She has published articles in Mslexia Magazine, WestWord Magazine, RWR and Southern Writers Magazine. Her publishing credits include her six book Brookhollow series published through Harlequin Heartwarming and an MMA sports romance series published through Penguin Random House Berkley/NAL. Her new small-town hockey series released this fall through Grand Central Publishing’s Forever Imprint. More information can be found at:

Jennifer Snow Author
Website
Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

