An interview with Megan Crane

Bride by Royal DecreeBride by Royal Decree:

His lost princess bride!

King Reza abandoned the search for his childhood betrothed, Princess Magdalena, years ago. Until the shocking appearance of a photograph of the elusive princess reignites the legend that gripped his nation. Now Reza must return to the hunt and claim his queen!

Waitress Maggy’s family history is a mystery, and even though she often dreamed of Prince Charming, he was never as devastatingly handsome as Reza! Fiercely independent, she won’t accept her birthright on any terms but her own, so if Reza can’t use legal bindings, he’ll use sensual ones that Maggy will be helpless to resist!

 Conveniently wedded, passionately bedded!


DevilXsXMark_Crane-674x1024 Devil’s Mark:

 The bestselling author of Devil’s Honor returns with a deliciously sinful novel about a good girl who goes bad—and the notorious Louisiana biker who can’t resist the lure of forbidden fruit.

Holly Chambless is tired of being the squeaky clean daughter of Lagrange’s holier-than-thou mayor. When her father is charged with corruption, she realizes that her whole life’s been a lie. Now’s her chance to do all the things she never dared, like scoring a job at a bar where reputations go to die, or reconnecting with the biker who sparked a secret hunger in her all those years ago. Holly isn’t a wide-eyed girl anymore – and this time she wants a taste of what has always been denied.

Killian “Uptown” Chenier has no time for stuck-up princesses. He likes fast bikes and wild sex. Sure, he remembers Holly. He sent her running with a wicked smile and a lesson about prying eyes. And sure, she’s grown up smoking-hot, with a body he’d like to personally desecrate. But Devil’s Keepers business is real and intense. Her daddy stole from the club, leaving his pretty blonde daughter a walking target. And when Uptown takes aim at what he wants, he never misses.


EdgeofPower5

Edge of Power:

The highly anticipated 4th book in USA Today bestselling author Megan Crane’s scorching Edge series featuring Wulf, the Raider King. He is the ultimate Viking outlaw, who rules a future, destroyed world with steel and the force of his will alone. And he will meet the one woman who will change everything.

Wulf is king of his clan and the ruthless head of the raider brotherhood.

Every foe in his path surrenders to his will. But when his mortal enemy’s beguiling daughter gets under his skin the way no one else ever has, a whole new intensity from the Raider King is unleashed…the fiery strength of dark passion and hard-hitting lust.

Kathlyn is no fan of the life she’s been forced to live under her savage father’s unforgiving rule. But the bold and powerful barbarian who steals her innocence—and her heart—is a dangerous bet. There’s nothing safe about a man who wants to destroy everything she knows and burn it to the ground. Except if Wulf can set her free, maybe safety is overrated…

Will the overwhelming heat of her warrior-king lead to something more powerful than either of them can imagine?

*Features a seriously dominating hero, graphic, steamy sex and a happily ever after.

Don’t miss the other books in this series:

Book #1: Edge of Obsession
Book #2: Edge of Temptation
Book #3: Edge of Control

Visit Megan’s website for more details:

Bride by Royal Decree
Devil’s Mark
Edge of Power


Help me welcome Megan Crane to the blog today!

1. Hi Megan, welcome to Amanda Writes. Please tell readers a little about yourself.

Hi there!  Thanks so much for having me!  I’m Megan Crane, also known as Caitlin Crews.  As Megan I write all kinds of contemporary romance, and as Caitlin I write Harlequin Presents.  Lucky me!  I live in the wilds of beautiful Oregon, nowhere near Portland, with my comic book artist husband.  And the only thing I do more than write is read!

2. When did you first realize you wanted to become a writer and what inspired your first book?

I always wrote.  When I was very little I wrote “books” for my older brother, complete with (awful) drawings.  I carried black and white notebooks around in school and wrote stories in them while I was supposed to be paying attention in class.  (I never did need Algebra, just as I suspected!)  But it wasn’t until I was in graduate school in England that I actually FINISHED a book.  It turned out that was key, because I ended up selling that book.  It was called English as a Second Language and it came out in 2004.  It’s very, very loosely based on my own adventures in graduate school, so I guess that was my inspiration!

3. Plotter or panster?

I used to be a compete pantser, all the way.  I would launch into a book and write and write, and then, when it was done, go back and try to find its shape.  I don’t do that anymore.  I don’t know if it’s because I’ve written so many more books now (I’m currently working on my 67th) or if it’s because my deadlines are so tight these days—maybe both.  These days I tend to think through a very rough and basic idea of the book before I start.  Meaning I sort of know the major turning points—but not in too much detail, because that would take the fun out of it.  Then I write a bit, getting to know the characters, which usually changes things.  Once I’m in a book, I usually stop every now and again to figure out the upcoming story beats.  So I guess I’m half and half these days.  I don’t want to know every little detail before I start, but I like to know the basic direction.

4. Your latest novel is titled? What influenced you to write this story and what can readers expect? Is it connected to other books? If yes, please enlighten readers about the connecting books.

My latest Harlequin Presents came out last month.  It’s called Bride by Royal Decree and it’s the story of Maggy, who has no idea that she’s a princess—and the very determined king who was betrothed to her at birth and wants her very badly now thart he’s found her.  It’s a fun Cinderella tale, of course.  Who hasn’t dreamed that secretly she’s a princess??  And it’s even more fun because it’s linked to my June 2016 book, Expecting a Royal Scandal, which happens to be up for a RT Award this year.  Cairo, the hero of Expecting a Royal Scandal, is Maggy’s long-lost royal brother.

Expecting a Royal Scandal

As Megan Crane, the second book in my Louisiana-set Devil’s Keepers biker series came out last month.  It’s called Devil’s Mark and features a good girl and a very, very bad biker.  Yum.  You can check out the rest of the series here: http://megancrane.com/series/devils-keepers/

And the fourth book in my dark, dystopian Viking series comes out this month!  Edge of Power is the story of Wulf, the raider king, and features a whole lot of other characters readers have come to know over the course of the series.  Here’s a place to go to get up to speed on the Edge series (as well as see some cool maps, read character profiles and bonus scenes, and more!): http://megancrane.com/series/edge/

5. What’s the most fascinating thing a reader has said to you regarding your books?

I love pretty much anything and everything readers say to me regarding my books!  I absolutely adore when readers want to talk to me about people and stories that used to live only in my head.  What’s better than that??

6. What book is on top of your TBR pile?

I just finished judging a slate of books for RWA’s annual RITA contest, which is always fun—but I can’t tell you what books I got to read.  I’m currently in a psychological thriller mood, so I have a Ruth Ware book ready to go, and I’m impatiently awaiting the next Elizabeth Little book…  It can’t come soon enough!

7. What are you currently working on and what other projects can readers expect from you in the near future?

I just finished a new Presents and a couple of stories set in my Edge world.  Now I’m working on a new book about a bullrider and the woman he definitely doesn’t want to fall in love with, which allows me to indulge my PBR obsession and call it work.  Hooray!  But the best place to track what I have in the pipeline is my Coming Soon page: http://megancrane.com/coming.php

8. Any advice for aspiring writers?

  • Write.
  • Block out the noise and just write.
  • Write at the pace that makes you happy. 
  • If you want to sell, know enough about the market to have a place to aim, but don’t get too caught up in what people say is selling or isn’t, or will be or won’t be, or is flat or booming.  That’s a great way to derail yourself.
  • Write and write. 
  • Get lost in the worlds you build and the characters you create.  No one can tell your stories but you.  Exult in that.
  • Finish the book, then decide what to do with it.  There are a lot more options today than there used to be.  That’s a good thing, but it can also be overwhelming.  Review your options, then decide what’s good for you.  Only you know what that is, and don’t be afraid to fight for it.
  • Remember: every author is an expert on her career, not anyone else’s, and certainly not yours.  Take every opinion for what it is: a window into one person’s experience.  The only thing you can be certain of in publishing is that your experience in your career will be different from everyone else’s.
  • And the only way to get good at writing books is to write books, so write another one!  And another and another. 
  • Because you can never write the book in your head.  Nothing you put on the page will ever be that perfect.  But you can write a version of that book, so do that.  Work on craft.  Think about how to make what you do better than the last book. 
  • Finish each book, then repeat.
  • Do it enough times, and you’ll have a career.


MeganCraneRITA15

USA Today bestselling, RITA-nominated, and critically-acclaimed author Megan Crane has written more than sixty books. She’s won fans with her women’s fiction, chick lit, and work-for-hire young adult novels as well as with the Harlequin Presents she writes as Caitlin Crews. These days her focus is on contemporary romance from small town heat to international glamor, cowboys to bikers, and beyond – including her take on futuristic Vikings. She sometimes teaches creative writing classes both online at mediabistro.com and at UCLA Extension’s prestigious Writers’ Program, where she finally utilizes the MA and PhD in English Literature she received from the University of York in York, England. She currently lives in the Pacific Northwest with a husband who draws comics and animation storyboards and their menagerie of ridiculous animals.

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest

5 thoughts on “An interview with Megan Crane

  1. Hi Ladies

    What a lovely interview I love your stories but really I need more hours in the day and I have so many to catch up on lucky me 💜

    Have Fun
    Helen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

