“Repetition” by Mollie Blake

When you lose yourself in a good book, you enter another world shared with believable characters and littered with hooks of some sort to keep you there. If it is well written, your journey through that world will be seamless.

However, the author can make it a bumpy, even an uncomfortable ride, spoiling the very pleasure they are hoping to give the reader. One such way is the curse of “repetition.”

As my words cascade onto the screen, I’m eager to progress my word count. I mean story. Therein lies the trap. I have repeated words and the result is irksome. As my own writing journey has progressed, I’m much more aware of the words I use. Not only is a thesaurus constantly at my side, I always ask myself, “Is the word, or even phrase, necessary?” When I wrote my first manuscript I hated deleting anything. When an editor highlighted my apparent addiction to certain words or phrases, I soon learned that removing them was a definite option to improve the story.

One of my many failings is the use of the word “and.” The thesaurus doesn’t really help. For example: “And another thing!” Alternatives “Also another thing!” “Furthermore another thing!” don’t provide the same impact. So I would leave it. But if there’s another “and” or two around I’ll revisit them. Here’s where I might just hit “Delete” without coming out in a sweat, or switch the word order. I might even change the vocabulary. Oh, the options are endless.

First draft: “The sun was veiled in wispy clouds and was the perfect light for the photographer.”

Final draft: “Wispy clouds veiled the sun, affording the perfect light for photographer, Byron Lord.”

Happy writing, reading and editing. Don’t repeat unless you have to. 

Take care
Mollie xx

Guiltless

Managing Director of her own successful fashion house, Lauren Chandler should have everything going for her. But at twenty-nine, she finds herself single again, and bored. Seeking a new challenge in her life, under the guise of saving her company money, Lauren embarks on a mission to model their latest range of lingerie herself. She just needs a photographer. When Byron Lord makes an unusual proposal, Lauren is adamant he won’t win the contract.

Co-owner of Broadway Studios, Byron Lord is determined to provide job security to his off-beat workforce, and he needs Lauren Chandler’s help to do so. Byron may have underestimated how far Lauren would be prepared to go. He had definitely underestimated how much she would demand of him.

And with an ultimatum of her own, Lauren gets far more than she bargained for.

Buy links:

Amazon Kindle
Amazon Paperback
Amazon UK 

Enter to win signed copies on Goodreads!


Mollie BlakeMollie Blake is a published author of contemporary romance. A lover of reading sexy stories, Mollie decided to go one step further and write her own. Her romances are filled with danger and peppered with hot sexy scenes. She is a member of International Thriller Writers and UK Romantic Novelists Association.

Connect with her on the web:

Website|Facebook |Twitter|Author Page

8 thoughts on ““Repetition” by Mollie Blake

  1. Congratulations on the new book Mollie. And thanks for these excellent writing and editing advice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know about “and” and I fight it in my own writing and I mean all of the time and I’m serious! (well this isn’t but). Good post! 🙂
    Congrats on your book, Mollie! And thanks, Amanda, for sharing this with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am learning a lot from you! Congratulations on your new book, hoping to read it one day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

